AAO Annual Meeting

Subspecialty Days: October 26 - 27
Annual Meeting: October 28-30

AAO 2018

This year, more than 75 Harvard Ophthalmology faculty and trainees will participate in the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) Annual Meeting as course instructors, panelists, and lecturers.

On October 27, Joan W. Miller, MD, Joseph F. Rizzo III MD, and Joseph Ciolino, MD of Harvard Ophthalmology will host the Annual Alumni Reception. To receive an invitation, email the Ophthalmology Events Office.

Congratulations to Harvard Ophthalmology faculty and alumni who are receiving AAO awards for their outstanding contributions to vision research, education, and service. Learn more about these awards.

2018 Life Achievement Honor Awards

  • Steven E. Feldon, MD, MBA, alumnus
  • Peter Kaiser, MD, alumnus
  • Peter A Netland, MD, PhD, alumnus
  • Johanna M. Seddon, MD, ScM, alumna
  • Nicholas J. Volpe, MD, alumnus 

Senior Achievement Awards

Achievement Awards

  • Mona Harissi-Dagher, MD, alumnus
  • Vandana Jain, MBBS, alumnus
  • Yannek I. Leiderman, MD PhD, alumnus
  • Joseph J. Ma, MD, alumnus
  • Aparna Ramasubramanian, MD, alumnus
  • Yoshihiro Yonekawa, MD

Secretariat Awards

  • Neil M. Bressler, MD, alumnus
  • Cynthia Mattox, MD, alumna

Joan W. Miller, MDCharles L Schepens MD/American Academy of Ophthalmology Award

Developing therapies for AMD: The art and science of problem-solving
Retina Subspecialty Day: October 26

Harvard Ophthalmology Chair Joan W. Miller, MD, is the first woman to receive this award, which recognizes her seminal contributions to the field of retinal disorders.

Dr. Miller and colleagues pioneered the development of photodynamic therapy with verteporfin (Visudyne®)-the first approved drug to reduce and slow vision loss in patients with age-related macular degeneration. The group also identified the key role of vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) in ocular neovascularization, leading to the development of anti-VEGF therapies.

Joseph Rizzo III, MDWilliam F. Hoyt Lecture

Unraveling the enigma of non-arteritic anterior ischemic optic neuropathy
October 29: Symposium

 Joseph F. Rizzo III, MD, directs the Neuro-Ophthalmology Service at Mass. Eye and Ear and is a leading expert in complex central nervous system disorders that affect vision. In this lecture, he'll shed light on the most common cause of acute optic nerve injury in individuals 50 years or older. He will also focus on key nuances of the optic nerve exam that can help minimize unnecessary testing and costs.

Headshot of Dr. James ChodoshJones/Smolin Lecture

The persistent enigma of adenovirus keratitis: viral pathogenesis in the cornea
October 29: Symposium

James Chodosh, MD, MPH, Associate Director of the Mass. Eye and Ear Cornea Service, is internationally recognized for his work on molecular virology, viral genomics, and viral epidemiology. His talk will highlight clinical signs that differentiate viral keratitis from other etiologies.

Headshot of Dr. Kathryn ColbyWhitney G. Sampson Lecture

Rethinking Fuchs' dystrophy in the era of successful Descemet stripping
October 28: Symposium

Alumna and former faculty member Kathryn Colby, MD, will discuss the latest trends in treating Fuchs' endothelial corneal dystrophy--- a disease that accounts for more than 10,000 corneal transplants each year in the United States alone. Dr. Colby is a leading expert in complex cornea and ocular surface diseases and currently serves as Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Science at the University of Chicago.