Cornea Conference

Cornea Conference Logo

September 20-21, 2019 | Boston, MA


Download the Program

The Biennial Cornea Conference is the premier global anterior segment eye research conference and is designed to be a platform for presenting the current basic and clinical research in the field of cornea and ocular surface.  

Co-Chairs: Reza Dana, MD, MPH, MSc; Ula Jurkunas, MD; and Ilene Gipson, PhD


  • Ocular Surface
  • Immunology and Microbiology
  • Stroma
  • Endothelial Biology
  • Innovation

Named Lectures

Linda Hazlett

J. Wayne Streilein Lecture
Linda Hazlett, PhD





Claes H. Dohlman Lecture
Eduardo Alfonso, MD





Panel 1 - Areas of Greatest Unmet Need in Cornea
Moderator: Albert Jun, MD, PhD

  • Eduardo Alfonso, MD
  • James Chodosh, MD, MPH
  • Ilene Gipson, PhD
  • Farhad Hafezi, MD, PhD
  • Shigeto Shimmura, MD
  • Vickery E. Trinkaus-Randall, PhD

Panel 2 - Controversies in Corneal Pathobiology
Moderator: Reza Dana, MD, MPH, MSc

  • Pablo Argüeso, PhD
  • Nick Girolamo, BSc, PhD
  • Pedram Hamrah, MD
  • Noorjahan Panjwani, PhD
  • Eric Pearlman, PhD
  • Daniel Saban, PhD


Email Erica Eaton or call (617) 912-2627

Download the Program

Named Lectures

Linda Hazlett

J. Wayne Streilein Lecturer

Linda Hazlett, PhD
Vice Dean for Research & Graduate Programs
The Robert S. Jampel, MD, PhD, Endowed Chair in Ophthalmology
Distinguished Professor and Vice Chair
Department of Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical Sciences
Wayne State University School of Medicine


Claes H. Dohlman Lecturer

Eduardo Alfonso, MD
Kathleen & Stanley J. Glaser Chair in Ophthalmology
Professor of Ophthalmology
Director, Bascom Palmer Eye Institute
Miller School of Medicine, University of Miami

Friday, September 20, 2019

Natalie Afshari, MD, FACS
Pablo Argüeso, PhD
Paulo Bispo, PhD
M. Elizabeth Fini, PhD
Nick Di Girolamo, BSc, PhD
Karsten Gronert, MS PhD
Farhad Hafezi, MD, PhD
Dimitris Karamichos, PhD
Sarah Knox, PhD
Eric Pearlman, PhD
Daniel Saban, PhD
James Zieske, PhD

Saturday, September 21, 2019

Nasim Annabi, PhD
Joseph Ciolino, MD

Che Connon, PhD
Sarah Hamm-Alvarez, PhD
Albert Jun, MD, PhD
Jodhbir Mehta, MD, PhD
Venkateswara Mootha, MD
Shigeto Shimmura, MD

The Starr Center
185 Cambridge Street, 2nd floor Boston, MA 02114


Room Block at the Wyndam Boston Beacon Hotel 

5 Blossom Street—less than a 5-minute walk to Starr Center

Room Rate: $259 for September 19-22, 2019. 

All reservations must be made by August 20, 2019. Book your room online or call (877) 999-3223 and refer to the "31st Biennial Cornea Conference Room Block MEEI" and/or ID#: 0919MEEIBC

If you have questions or would like to stay additional nights, call the hotel directly at (617) 742-7630

Traveling by Air

Logan Airport is just 4 miles from The Starr Center.

  • The Logan Airport provides a complimentary shuttle to the Blue Line on the MBTA.
  • Take the Blue Line inbound to the Bowdoin stop.
  • From Bowdoin, The Starr Center and The Wyndham Boston Beacon Hill are less than a five-minute walk away

Traveling by Public Transportation


For those driving, we suggest the Propark loction that is around the corner from the conference
Propark Boston Parking Garage-Longfellow
Address: 60 Staniford St, Boston, MA 02114
Daily Max: $48






Lions Vision Gift


Advancing Sight Network
Bausch & Lomb
Boston Foundation for Sight
Cambium Medical Technologies
Kala Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Medical Innovation Partners
Novaliq, Inc.
Ora, Inc.
Santen Pharmaceuticals Co., Ltd
Sun Pharma


Aldeyra Therapeutics
Tufts University School of Medicine

Become a Sponsor

Erica Eaton
(617) 912-2627
20 Staniford Street
Boston, MA 02114