2022 AUPO Annual Meeting

February 9, 2022


Harvard Ophthalmology was well represented at the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO) annual meeting last month. Chair Joan W. Miller, MD, the President-elect of AUPO, served as Program Committee Chair for the five-day event. Alice Lorch, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Director of the Residency Training Program, and Mass Eye and Ear Senior Vice President Debra Rogers participated as panel moderator and presenter, respectively. Ankoor Shah, MD, PhD, an Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology, moderated an innovative and productive symposium on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

Three trainees also participated in the meeting. PGY-2 ophthalmology resident Jonathan Lin, MD, PhD, was selected to share his research on systemic complement activation in non-exudative age-related macular degeneration at the Resident and Fellow Research Forum. Harvard Medical School students Ned Lu and Blake Oberfeld presented at the Medical Student Educator Paper Session—Ned on the Under-Represented in Medicine program in the Harvard Retinal Imaging Laboratory and Blake on the application of adult-learning theory in teaching slit lamp biomicroscopy. Congratulations to Blake, who received the Best Paper Award for her work.

See also: Awards, Events, Trainees