AAO Awards for Harvard Faculty and Alumni

October 10, 2016
AAO Awards for Harvard Faculty and Alumni

Congratulations to the Harvard Ophthalmology faculty and alumni who are receiving America Academy Ophthalmology awards for their outstanding contributions to ophthalmology through vision research, education, and service.

Laureate Recognition Award

The Laureate Recognition Award, the Academy’s single highest honor, goes to Matthew D. Davis, MD, for his seminal contributions to ophthalmology. These include: establishing gold standards for conducting clinical studies; pioneering many collaborative, multi-centered clinical trials; and establishing the first ophthalmic photographic reading center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Dr. Davis completed a research fellowship at Schepens Eye Research Institute under the mentorship of Charles L. Schepens, MD, a 2003 laureate.

Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award

Paul S. Bernstein, MD, PhD, University of Utah, is one of two recipients of the 2016 Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award. He is being recognized for his dedication to bringing modern vitreoretinal services to the developing world in a sustainable manner. Dr. Bernstein received fellowship-training in vitreoretinal surgery at Mass. Eye and Ear/Harvard Ophthalmology.

Achievement Award Program

Each year, the Academy recognizes individuals who have made substantial contributions to the Academy, its scientific and educational programs, and to ophthalmology. This year, the Academy recognized 27 individuals with the Life Achievement Honor Awards, including two Harvard Ophthalmology alumni: James V. Aquavella, MD, University of Rochester, and Scheffer C.G. Tseng, MD, PhD, Ocular Surface Center, Miami.

The Academy also honored 140 individuals with Achievement Awards, including Ula Jurkunus, MD, Mass. Eye and Ear/Harvard Ophthalmology, and two Harvard Ophthalmology alumni: David M. Hinkle, MD, UMass Memorial Medical Center, and Paul S. Bernstein, MD, PhD, University of Utah.

Secretariat Award

This award recognizes individuals for their special contributions to the Academy and ophthalmology outside the scope of the current Achievement Awards program. This year, the Academy recognized 52 individuals, including four Harvard Ophthalmology alumni: Dasa Gangadhar, MD, Grene Vision Group, Wichita, KS; Kathryn A. Colby, MD, PhD, University of Chicago; Glenn C. Cockerham, MD, Veterans Affairs Palo Alto Health Care System; and Joan M. O'Brien, MD, Scheie Eye Institute.