Alice Lorch, MD, MPH, Recognized with Anne Klibanski Visiting Scholars Award

September 2, 2020

Alice Lorch, MD, MPH, Director of Ophthalmology Residency Training Program at Harvard Medical School (HMS), has been honored with the Anne Klibanski Visiting Scholars Award. This award–given through The Mass General Center for Faculty Development–provides an opportunity for her to serve as “virtual” Visiting Professor to give Grand Rounds at a national or international institution. The award is presented to women faculty clinicians, educators, researchers, and postdoctoral fellows who have demonstrated exceptional promise as leaders in their fields and whose careers would benefit from both national and international mentoring and networking opportunities. Dr. Lorch graduated from the Harvard Ophthalmology Residency Program, and then served as Chief Resident and Director of the Trauma Service for the 2014-2015 academic year. In July 2017, she was appointed Associate Program Director of the Harvard Ophthalmology Residency Program, and she became Director in December 2018. As part of her dedication to improving healthcare outcomes and quality, she earned a Master of Public Health degree in Clinical Effectiveness at the Harvard Chan School of Public Health. Her thesis project involved a study using telemedicine to improve access to care of urgent ophthalmic complaints—an area in which she continues to push forward, not only as Project Leader, but also as the Associate Chief for Quality for the Department of Ophthalmology at Mass Eye and Ear.

Dr. Lorch’s research interests are centered on quality and outcomes. She is currently investigating the use of telemedicine for urgent ophthalmic problems and patient-reported-outcomes (PROMs) for cataract surgery. She is also the co-principal investigator with Chief and Chair Joan W. Miller, MD, of the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s IRIS® (Intelligent Research in Sight) registry research group at Mass Eye and Ear. Additionally, Dr. Lorch is also interested in resident wellness and develops educational curricula on communication skills.

See also: Awards