Congratulations to Our 2017 ARVO Fellows!

February 1, 2017


The title of ARVO Fellow is an honor established to recognize current ARVO members for their individual accomplishments, leadership and contributions to the Association. ARVO Fellows serve as role models and mentors for individuals pursuing careers in vision and ophthalmology research and help further ARVO's vision, which includes advancing basic and clinical knowledge and serving as the leading international forum for vision research and the primary advocate for vision science worldwide. In 2017, two HMS Ophthalmology faculty members, one former faculty member, and several alumni received this honor.

Gold Fellows

Current Faculty

Louis Pasquale, MD

Professor of Ophthalmology

Former Faculty

Pedram Hamrah, MD

Associate Professor, Tufts University School of Medicine


Jayakrishna Ambati, MD

Professor and Vice Chair for Research and Director, Center for Advanced Vision Science, Ophthalmology, University of Virginia School of Medicine

Scheffer Tseng, MD, PhD

Medical Director, Ocular Surface Center and Ocular Surface Research & Education Foundation

Chief Scientific Officer, TissueTech, Inc.


Silver Fellows

Current Faculty

Michael Young, PhD

Associate Professor of Ophthalmology


Norman Blair, MD

Professor of Ophthalmology and Director, Laboratory of Retinal Circulation and Metabolism, Illinois Eye and Ear Infirmary

Samuel Jacobson, MD, PhD

Professor of Ophthalmology; Director, Center for Hereditary Retinal Degenerations, Scheie Eye Institute; Director, Retinal Function Department, Scheie Eye Institute, University of Pennsylvania


New 2017 Dowling Society Members

The Dowling Society recognizes individuals for their significant support for eye and vision research.

Joan W. Miller, MD