Faculty and Alumni to Be Honored with AAO Awards

November 10, 2020

Congratulations to our faculty and alumni who will be reconized by the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) for their outstanding contributions to vision research, education, and service at the Academy's 2020 Virtual Meeting this weekend.  

John H. Kempen, MD, MPH, PhD, MHS, to Receive Humanitarian Award

Dr. John KempenJohn H. Kempen, MD, MPH, PhD, MHS, is one of two people who will be honored with the 2020 Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award. The award recognizes Dr. Kempen's deep commitment to charitable work that aims to reduce blindness worldwide by improving access to patient care and establishing much-needed ophthalmology sub-specialty training programs in developing countries.

Dr. Kempen is internationally renowned for his expertise in ocular inflammatory diseases and ophthalmic epidemiology. He is Founding President of Sight for Souls a Christian nonprofit organization that aims to eradicate global blindness by developing sustainable eye care delivery systems, providing public health outreach, and creating ophthalmology training programs in areas of greatest need. In 2015, Dr. Kempen began a long-term commitment to lead the organization's first project personally the establishment of the MyungSung Christian Medical Center Eye Institute in Ethiopia.

Learn more about Dr. Kempen's humanitarian work

John Loewenstein, MD, to Be Recognized with Unsung Hero Award

Dr. John LoewensteinThis year, the academy is featuring unsung heroes who have been quietly serving the underserved, mentoring the next generation, and sharing their skills with the world. Among them is John Loewenstein, MD, Associate Clinical Chief of Ophthalmology at Mass Eye and Ear.

"Dr. Lowenstein is an extraordinary clinical and surgical educator. He received numerous accolades, including the coveted resident-selected Mass Eye and Ear Teacher of the Year Award (thrice). With Dr. Bonnie Henderson, he pioneered the concept for the Mass Eye and Ear Cataract Master, a novel surgical teaching tool that instructs residents in the cognitive aspects of cataract surgery," said Joan W. Miller, MD, who nominated him for the award.

Lucia Sobrin, MD, MPH to Receive Women in Ophthalmology Mentorship Award 

Dr. Lucia SobrinThis year, Women in Ophthalmology (WIO) is honoring Lucia Sobrin, MD, MPH, with the 2020 Mentorship Award. The award recognizes her outstanding commitment to fostering trainees' intellectual growth and career development.

Dr. Sobrin will be recognized at the virtual WIO Awards Ceremony and Reception on Friday, November 13 at 8:30pm Eastern Time.


Guest of Honor

  • M. Roy Wilson, MD, MS (alumnus)

Life Achievement Honor Award

  • Peter C. Donshik, MD (alumnus)
  • Kazuo Tsubota, MD, PhD (alumnus)

Senior Achievement Award

  • Mary Elizabeth Hartnett, MD (alumna)

Achievement Award

  • Mary E. Aronow, MD
  • Deeba Husain, MD
  • Joseph M. Coney, MD (alumnus)
  • Robin Cook, MD (alumnus)
  • Adam H. Kaufman, MD (alumnus)
  • Ann-Marie Lobo, MD (alumna)
  • John T. H. Mandeville, MD, PhD (alumnus)
  • Tammy H. Osaki, MD, PhD (alumna)
  • Jullia A. Rosdahl, MD, PhD (alumna)
  • Susannah G. Rowe, MD, MPH (alumna)
  • Jose A. Sahel, MD (alumnus)
  • Rhoads E. Stevens, MD (alumnus

Secretariat Award

  • Teresa C. Chen, MD
  • Lucia Sobrin, MD, MPH
  • Demetrios Vavvas, MD, PhD
  • Martine J. Jager, MD, PhD
  • Natalie Afshari, MD (alumna)
  • Glenn Cockerham, MD (alumnus)
  • Kathryn A. Colby, MD, PhD (alumna)
  • Kevin T. Flaherty, MD (alumnus)
  • Laura K. Green, MD (alumna)
  • Pavlina Kemp, MD (alumna)
  • Christina R. Prescott, MD, PhD (alumna)
  • Alfredo A. Sadun, MD, PhD (alumnus)
See also: Awards