Highlights from the 2018 AAO Annual Meeting

November 2, 2018

More than 75 Harvard Ophthalmology faculty and trainees from our affiliates—including Beetham Eye Institute at Joslin Diabetes Center, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Mass. Eye and Ear, Boston Children’s Hospital, and VA Boston Healthcare System—participated in the American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting October 26-30 in Chicago.

Notably, Harvard Ophthalmology Chair Joan W. Miller, MD, presented the Charles L. Schepens, MD/AAO Award Lecture. Her talk revisited the pathway to successful treatment of neovascular age-related macular degeneration and shared insight on how to continue to innovate in the field. Dr. Miller is the first woman to receive this prestigious award. Read more about her talk.

James Chodosh, MD, MPH, Associate Director of the Harvard Ophthalmology Infectious Disease Institute, presented the Jones/Smolin Lecture. Joseph F. Rizzo III, MD, Director of the Neuro-Ophthalmology Service at Mass. Eye and Ear, presented the William F. Hoyt Lecture. And Alumna and former faculty member Kathryn Colby, MD, presented the W hitney G. Sampson Lecture.

Congratulations to our faculty and alumni who are being recognized for their outstanding contributions to vision research, education, and service.

2018 Life Achievement Honor Awards

Steven E. Feldon, MD, MBA, alumnus
Peter Kaiser, MD, alumnus
Peter A Netland, MD, PhD, alumnus
Johanna M. Seddon, MD, ScM, alumna
Nicholas J. Volpe, MD, alumnus 

Senior Achievement Awards

Nisha Acharya, MD, alumna
Teresa C. Chen, MD
Dennis M. Marcus, MD, alumnus
Louis R. Pasquale, MD
Prithvi S. Sankar, MD, alumnus
J. Sebag MD, FACS, FRCOphth, FARVO, alumnus
Laura K. Green, MD, alumnus

Achievement Awards

Mona Harissi-Dagher, MD, alumnus
Vandana Jain, MBBS, alumnus
Yannek I. Leiderman, MD, PhD, alumnus
Joseph J. Ma, MD, alumnus
Aparna Ramasubramanian, MD, alumnus
Yoshihiro Yonekawa, MD

Secretariat Awards

M. Bressler, MD, alumnus
Cynthia Mattox, MD, alumna

Ophthalmology Times Resident Writer’s Award Competition

Harvard Ophthalmology resident Huy Nguyen (second-place)