Honors and Awards Received March 2016

April 1, 2016

Claes H. Dohlman, MD, PhD, and Joan W. Miller, MD, were appointed honorary Heed Fellows.

C. Stephen Foster, MD, Massachusetts Eye Research and Surgery Institution, was included in the "America's Best Physicians" registry for 2016 as a top doctor in ophthalmology. This honor is issued by the National Consumer Advisory Board, an organization that identifies top professionals in their fields. Doctors are chosen based on training, experience, continuing education, and dedication to excellence.

Deeba Husain, MD, received a grant from Alcon Research Institute in the amount of $345,121 over one year for her project, "A Randomized, Open-Label Single Ascending Dose and Double-Masked, Ranibizumab Controlled, Safety, Tolerability, and Efficacy Study of Intravitreal LMG324 in Subjects with Neovascular Age-Related Macular Degeneration."

Chris Nims, who retired as Mass. Eye and Ear's librarian in 2015, was a contributing author on an article by the Association of Vision Science Librarians that received the 2016 Louise Darling Medal for Distinguished Achievement in Collection Development in the Health Sciences by the Medical Library Association.

Nurhan Torun, MD, was accepted into the BIDMC Academy of Medical Educators as an Academy member in 2015-2016. The mission of the BIDMC Academy is to enhance and foster the development of physicians and scientists as educators throughout the BIDMC community. It expands upon current department offerings in professional development, and co-sponsors educational activities with the HMS Academy and academies at other HMS-affiliated hospitals.

2016 Curing Kids Awards
The Mass. Eye and Ear Curing Kids Fund supports research and treatment for children with conditions that affect vision, hearing and other debilitating disorders of the eyes, ears, nose, throat, head and neck. Curing Kids grant recipients receive $50,000 over one or two years, which enables them to conduct research to find new cures.

Trainee Awards

Heed Ophthalmic Foundation: Of the twenty 2016-2017 Heed Fellowships awarded, three went to HMS Ophthalmology trainees. Congratulations to Catherine Choi, MD, MSAvni Patel, MD, MBA, and Katherine Talcott, MD. The Society of Heed Fellows is a public charitable and educational foundation that provides funding for post graduate studies in ophthalmology and the ophthalmic sciences

American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS): As one of ten 2016 ASCRS Foundation Research Grant awardees, second-year resident Durga Borkar, MD, received $5,000. This award supports researchers exploring new approaches to challenging issues in ophthalmology. Two other residents, Seanna Grob, MD, MAS, and Zeba Syed, MD, received 2016 ASCRS Foundation Resident Excellence Awards, which are given annually to only ten residents. Excellence Awards provide $1,000 for travel and free registration to the ASCRS Annual Symposium in New Orleans, Louisiana, May 7-10, 2016.  

Harvard University: As one of five finalists (out of 68 entries) for the 2016 Harvard University Deans' Health and Life Sciences Challenge, Pykus Therapeutics, a start-up company co-founded by second-year ophthalmology residents, Tomasz Stryjewski, MD, and Tony Stefater, MD, PhD, will receive $5,000 in start-up funding along with a work-space and mentoring at the Harvard Innovation Laboratory. Pykus Therapeutics is currently developing an intraocular technology to improve retinal tamponade after vitrectomy.