Ophthalmology Faculty at ARVO 2022

May 13, 2022

Harvard Ophthalmology was well represented at this year’s Association for Research and Vision in Ophthalmology (ARVO) annual meeting, held May 1-4 in Denver, Colorado. Faculty and trainees from across the department participated as course instructors, panelists, lecturers, and presenters, with several faculty and trainees receiving honors and awards.

Congratulations to all our faculty and trainees who received ARVO awards for their outstanding contributions to vision research.

Janey Wiggs, MD, PhD, Received Mildred Weisenfeld Award 
Dr. Wiggs, Associate Chief of Ophthalmology Clinical Research, presented the 2022 Mildred Weisenfeld Award Lecture, in recognition of her distinguished scholarly contributions to the clinical practice of ophthalmology. Dr. Wiggs presented her work on the discovery of glaucoma-causing genes and genomic loci, the importance of genetic testing, and the use of novel gene-based glaucoma therapies in the future.

Paulo Bispo, PhD, Receives Research Fellowship
Dr. Bispo, an infectious disease microbiologist at Mass Eye and Ear, received the Mallinckrodt Uveitis Research Fellowship. This $45,000 award will fund his project to develop a rapid and unbiased metagenomic sequencing approach to detect uveitis pathogens.
Daisy Shu, PhD, Recognized with ARVO Emerging Advocacy Award
Dr. Shu, a postdoctoral research fellow at Schepens Eye Research Institute of Mass Eye and Ear, received this award in recognition of her advocacy efforts, which includes serving as an ARVO Members-in-Training Trustee and speaking with congressional staffers on the importance of funding vision research.

Patricia D’Amore, PhD, MBA, Named ARVO President-Elect 
Dr. D'Amore, Associate Chief for Ophthalmology Basic and Translational Research, was named the next President-Elect of ARVO at the annual meeting. Dr. D’Amore has served as an ARVO Trustee since 2019 and will begin her term as President of ARVO in 2024.

Eric Pierce, MD, PhD, to Receive 2023 Proctor Medal 
At the 2022 annual meeting it was announced that  Dr. Pierce, Director of the Berman-Gund Laboratory for the Study of Retinal Degenerations, is the 2023 recipient of the Proctor Medal, in recognition of his distinguished achievements in ophthalmology research. Dr. Pierce will receive this award and present the Proctor Lecture at next year’s annual meeting in New Orleans. 


See also: Awards, Events